Quinta Del Carmen - Monumental Courtyard Dining - Aruba Restaurant Quinta Del Carmen - Monumental Courtyard Dining - Aruba Restaurant Quinta Del Carmen - Monumental Courtyard Dining - Aruba Restaurant Quinta Del Carmen - Monumental Courtyard Dining - Aruba Restaurant Quinta Del Carmen - Monumental Courtyard Dining - Aruba Restaurant Quinta Del Carmen - Monumental Courtyard Dining - Aruba Restaurant

History Of Quinta Del Carmen

Quinta Del Carmen - Monumental Courtyard Dining - Aruba Restaurant Old Hospital

This monumental building has a rich history that we would like to share …

It starts in 1916, when a then famous architect, Adriaan Laclé, decides to build a "cunucu style" house for weekends and vacation ( that is where the name quinta stands for), and names it after his daughter, Maria Del Carmen.

The eagle refinery was established in Aruba, mostly for crude oil coming from Venezuela. As accidents happened quite often on the ships, a comprehensive hospital and recuperation home was required for the personnel. For this reason, they acquired Quinta Del Carmen, and the surrounding land, Bubali, with the aim of having a hospital and recuperating center.

Quinta Del Carmen - Monumental Courtyard Dining - Aruba Restaurant Old Hospital

The house already existed, and the hospital was built in the back in the 1920's. Quinta Del Carmen became the doctor's residence, but as they were building the hospital, the first patients were treated here, so you are seated in the first hospital on Aruba. When Doctor Cameron arrived, he brought his elderly mother, for whom the guest quarters (in which we have the restrooms now) was built.

As the hospital was being established, the nurses moved in Quinta Del Carmen, and the doctor moved to a new home 100 meters north of the house.

On the surrounding lands, a golf course was created for the enjoyment and relaxation of the staff.

Club House

When the world war began, the refinery, and thus the hospital was put on hold. Quinta Del Carmen became the "clubhouse" for the few staff that stayed behind, but was poorly maintained. After the war, the refinery was persuaded to have Quinta Del Carmen reopened for staff housing. The doctor still lived on the grounds, but the hospital never reopened, and fell into total disrepair.

The golf course, that was built by or for an avid golfer ( Australian Jack O'Hara), in or after 1937, was still actively used. In reality, it was a seven hole course, but two holes were played twice. The "club fridge" was on the porch of this house.

It then became a private home, and was restored and kept as most possible in the original architecture by the owners who lived there. We acquired the house from the Hamers family, who fortunately kept the house in great shape, and helped us in finding the rich history behind the building.

Back to Top